What other poem is there?

Posted: November 30, 2009 in Uncategorized

“A poem is trapped inside me.
Metaphors catch at my lips,
words hover like butterflies
never settling on paper.
I have sat for hours writing your name on a blank page.
Only your name is beautiful. What other poem is there? ”

 

-Gulzar

A most exquisite piece of writing. Originally in urdu,  I got the translation over here. When Shruti first showed it to me, I was all speechless silence and my-heart-just-missed-a-beat types…

In Between

(Alev Tekinay)

Every day I pack my suitcase
and then I unpack it again.

In the morning, when I wake up,
I plan my return,
but by midday I get more used
to Germany.

And every day I travel
two thousand kilometres
by my imaginary train
there and back,
undecided between
the wardrobe
and the suitcase,
and in between
is my world.

translated from german. I copied and pasted that from here.

Comments
  1. SweetGirl72349 says:

    true it IS speech-less-y

Leave a Reply

